P.J. Connelly to be next Greenville mayor; Hardy upsets Murphy in Kinston

Greenville Councilman P.J. Connelly (Submitted photo)

NEW BERN, Craven County - Greenville has elected its next mayor. So has Kinston.

P.J. Connelly won the majority of the vote in Tuesday's local elections to win the seat. He had 53.66% of the vote (5,786 votes), according to unofficial results from the N.C. Board of Elections. Connelly beat out Calvin Mercer (40.38 percent, 4,354 votes), Ernest T. Reeves (4.91 percent, 529) and Curtis Gene Pulley (.71 percent, 77).

The other big race was in Kinston where Don Hardy beat out incumbent BJ Murphy. Hardy had 2,103 votes (51.54 percent) while Murphy had 1,910 (46.81 percent).

Other races of note:

-- In the race for Town of Swansboro Mayor, John Davis beat out mayor Scott Chadwick to win the position. Davis (305 votes, 44.92 percent) outdistanced Chadwick (242, 35.64 percent). This result comes just weeks after Chadwick was charged with state tax offenses after failing to file North Carolina Individual Income Tax Returns for tax years 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 and 2015.

-- Farmville chose Robert L. (Bobby) Evans as mayor with 55.75 percent of the vote (475 votes). He beat Heather Irvin (37.32, 318).

-- In the race for Town of Belhaven Mayor, Ricky Credle received the majority with 36.40 percent of the vote (170 vote). Credle beat out candidates Greg Satterthwaite (28.69 percent, 134 votes) and Edith C. Guy (28.48 percent, 133 votes). Because of the close vote, there is likely to be a recount. Longtime mayor Adam O'Neil did not seek re-election.

-- Dan Tuman (107 votes, 53.77 percent) won the race for North Topsail Beach mayor, beating current mayor Fred Burns.

-- Grifton voted against a mixed beverage referendum, with 59.5 percent voting against. Beulaville voted for the referendum for unfortified wine by a 58.37-41.63 percent margin (122 for, 87 against).

-- Ken Jones won the race for Pine Knoll Shores mayor, getting 278 votes (56.39 percent) to John D. Ferguson's 215 (43.61 percent).

-- Columbia elected James W. Cahoon as mayor. He easily won with 81.5 percent of the vote.

-- There were no local elections in Hyde County.

You can see all the results by going to the State Board of Elections website.

-- Beaufort County results

-- Bertie County results

-- Carteret County results

-- Craven County results

-- Duplin County results

-- Greene County results

-- Jones County results

-- Lenoir County results

-- Martin County results

-- Onslow County results

-- Pamlico County results

-- Pitt County results

-- Tyrrell County results

-- Washington County results

-- Wayne County results