Public Safety Awards Ceremony designates emergency professionals of year

(Photo courtesy of Merrilee Moore)

JACKSONVILLE, Onslow County - Onslow County hosted their Eighth Annual Public Safety Awards Ceremony on September 26, where five public safety workers received some well deserved recognition for their hard work this year.

Judges selected five out of 16 nominees to receive awards for their actions in the line of duty.

John Gray, with Onslow County Emergency Services, won 2017 Emergency Medical Services Professional of the Year.

The 2017 Emergency Communications Professional of the Year is Megan Howe, with Jacksonville Department of Public Safety.

Captain Robert Sandy, from Security Company, Fire and Emergency Services Division, has won 2017 Firefighter Professional of the Year.

The 2017 Volunteer Firefighter of the Year is Robert Roberts, who is from Onslow County Fire Rescue.

Trooper Anthony Juliano, of N.C. State Highway Patrol, is the 2017 Law Enforcement Professional of the Year.

"I'm thankful for being nominated and I'm grateful for winning," Juliano said. "I thoroughly enjoy doing this job and I love working here in Onslow County. I was a marine for twelve years so it's nice to be around the base and be around the marines and still have that attachment."

Keynote speaker for the ceremony, Senator Harry Brown, says we don't celebrate public safety workers enough for what they do.

close video ad
Unmutetoggle ad audio on off